Brisbane Catholic Primary Principals Association

Tom Fitzsimon Award

Past Recipients of the Tom Fitzsimon Award

Click on the links below for details and photos
2008 - Dr Christopher Branson 2013 - Steve Taylor
2009 - Anne McKenny 2014 - Terry Gimpel
2010 - John Parkinson 2015 - Peter Blundell
2011 - Rick Sheehan 2016 -
2012 - Jim Midgley 2017 - Maryanne Riley


The Tom Fitzsimon Award is a peer-nominated professional learning award sponsored by BACPPA, which recognises a strong commitment to professional learning in the fields of leadership and education made by a leader in one of our Catholic schools.  The award consists of a professional reading grant.  Recipients of the award will be profiled on the Association website, where a perpetual record of recipients will be recorded. This award will be presented each year at the BACPPA AGM.

Nominees must:

  • be financial members of BACPPA.
  • be nominated, in writing, by another financial member of BACPPA
  • have demonstrated their commitment to their own professional learning during the previous twelve month period.
  • have shared their professional learning with their colleagues.
  • have transferred their professional learning into practice.

The successful applicant/nominee will be selected by the Executive Committee of BACPPA.  The Executive Committee, at its discretion, and as appropriate, may invite other educational professionals to join the selection panel. Members of the Executive Committee are not eligible for this award.

Download the Nomination Form      |         Read more about Tom Fitzsimon


  School Site Solutions